Il tuo browser non supporta Javascript



IThe towns involved are those of the Amalfi Coast: Vietri sul Mare, Cetara, Maiori, Minori, Scala, Atrani, Furore, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, Conca dei Marini and Tramonti all in the province of Salerno.  The certificate was issued on 10 August 1993 (Decree 10/8/1995, published in the Official Gazette, n° 208 6/9/1995) and concerns the red and rosé wines made from Aglianico, Sciasinoso, Piedirosso and Tintore and the white wines made from Falanghina, Biancolella, Fenile and Ginestra.

The doc has three subzones: Furore, Ravello and Tramonti

Furore has rediscovered the vine-growing wine-making tradition in its wind-beaten gorges thanks to the vinery of Marisa Cuomo who has relaunched ancient denominations and, above all, the peasant custom of cultivating the vines in the rocky dry-stone wall, that support the upper terrace.  Each terrace is usually four or five metres wide of soil on which there are four rows often of the same plant.  This system is widely visible with spectacular unsupported vines, a rarity in Europe.  The quantity produced is scarse, as regards the amount per hectare and the extension of the vineyard, only 35 hectares in all.  Both red and white wines are characterised by their fresh taste and intense perfumes.
The area of grape production in the subzone of Furore includes the whole territory surrounding the towns of Furore, Praiano, Conca dei Marini and Amalfi.

Ravello was a place where wine was commercialised thanks to the activity of its grand hotels, one of which, the Hotel Palumbo, has been producing its famous brand, Vini Episcopio, for over a century.  Because of its commercial nature and the central position on the Coast, Ravello has the highest number of wine producers: apart from the Hotel Palumbo, there are also two historical wine cellars, Cantine Sammarco and Ettore Sammarco.  The former has acquired the Caruso brand, founded in 1896, which launched the rosé so appreciated by the international jet set of the 1960s: for this wine, together with the Salento, the Coast has long been renowned. It was relaunched at the end of the ‘90s, after being neglected for a long period.  From Wagner to all the Heads of State, from Greta Garbo to Rossellini, it would take less to name those who have never  tasted Ravello wine during the last 150 years: nobody, everyone has drunk it and purchased it as a  souvenir.

The area designated for  production in the subzone of Ravello includes the whole territory surrounding the towns of Ravello, Scala, Minori and Atrani.

Tramonti is the agricultural heart of the Coast.  The success of its wine is due to its inhabitants.  Those three thousand pizza chefs who work in Piedmont, Lombardy, Veneto and Emilio Romagna.  A real story worth the telling and which begins when the commerce of wine and the manufacture of dairy products were the only income of the peasant population.  It sounds incredible, only a few kilometres from Ravello and Amalfi, but nevertheless true:  poverty was no longer sustainable and many of the inhabitants of the 13 villages of Tramonti fled northwards in search of work because the land was insufficient to feed their children.  An exodus: only the old people stayed at home, a common feature of all the towns of the inland areas of Southern Italy, with a difference: the Tramontani all became very good pizza chefs.  A tradition which began straight after the war, when Luigi Giordano decided to stay in order to manufacture fresh dairy products. In order to solve the problem of unsold fiordilatte cheese, he decided to open a pizzeria.  It was the start of an never-ending success story which has continued up to the present day.  Luigi Giordano opened a second restaurant, then a third, then his fellow townspeople copied him.  Giuseppe Apicella decided, instead, to return: rather than sell wine in jugs he started to bottle it and his label entered the pizzerias.
Recently, three new businesses have entered the market and Tramonti has overtaken Ravello for the number of commercialised brands: Reale, San Francesco and Monte di Grazia.
The production area designated as subzone Tramonti includes the whole territory surrounding the towns of Tramonti and Maiori.